My Maps Merge and Switch between Maps

ZeeMaps allows you to merge maps (two or more) and easily switch between maps you’re working on.

Merge my maps

To merge maps, you have to be a paid user. You won’t be able to take the following steps if you’re on the Basic plan, which is free. Please check pricing information here.
When you merge maps you create a new map that contains all the points, highlighted regions, legends, connections and annotations that each of the original maps contain.
To do this, click on the ‘My Maps’ link on the homepage. Alternatively, you can hover over your sign-in details at the top right of the page and select the ‘My Maps’ menu option from there. Select two or more maps by clicking anywhere in a map row except the map name. Once they are highlighted, go to ‘Map Operations’ and select ‘Merge’.
My maps merge
You’ll be asked for a title and a description of the new merged map, and whether you’d like to proceed.
Once the new map is created,  you can access it in ‘My Maps’ and print it or use it on websites, blogs or social media platforms. You can also save your new map as a PDF, PNG or CSV file.
The new merged map exists in addition to the originals, so you can still access your original maps. However, changes to the originals do not reflect in the merged map.

Switch between maps

You don’t have to be a paid user to switch between maps and it’s a feature that makes ZeeMaps even smoother to use. You can only switch between maps that you own. You can check what you’ve got by looking in ‘My Maps’.
If you are working in one map and would like to switch to another of your maps, go to ‘Map’ on the left of the menu bar and select ‘Switch Map’.
Switch between my maps
You’ll then be taken to a ‘Select a Map’ window where you can see all your maps and you can choose the one you want from the dropdown list.
This is a useful feature if you are working on store location maps or customer maps for example, and want to ensure they are consistent in appearance (marker color, annotation style, etc.)

OneDrive Spreadsheets: Map Location Data

ZeeMaps allows you to create interactive maps from location data stored in Microsoft’s OneDrive spreadsheets. ZeeMaps can periodically update the map as the spreadsheet changes.
You upload and attach your OneDrive spreadsheet to a map only once, then the map can be automatically kept updated as your spreadsheet changes. This way, you do not have to worry about making changes to both your spreadsheet and your map.
In order for this to work, make sure that you do not:

  1. Change the name or location of the spreadsheet
  2. Change the columns of your spreadsheet.

If you make any of the above two changes to your spreadsheet, then you must delete all data from your map and re-upload and attach your spreadsheet.

Attach a OneDrive Spreadsheet to a map

To attach a OneDrive spreadsheet to a map, first create a map on ZeeMaps. Use the Additions -> Add (Upload) Multiple Markers menu item on your map, and then select the Cloud Drive Spreadsheet Option.

Upload Data from OneDrive Spreadsheet to a a map
Upload Data from OneDrive Spreadsheet to a a map

In the Cloud Drives drop-down, select the Microsoft OneDrive option for the Provider control, and hit the Fetch My Spreadsheets button.
Select OneDrive Provider
Select OneDrive Provider

At this point, a window should be activated that asks you to sign-in to your Microsoft OneDrive account and give ZeeMaps access. Once you’ve granted access, you should see a list of your spreadsheets and be able to select the spreadsheet that you want to upload to the map. From here on, follow the steps for uploading a spreadsheet to a map.
If you want your spreadsheet changes to be automatically reflected on your map, make sure that you check the option for “Regularly update from Cloud Spreadsheet” in Step 2 of the confirmation process for the upload:
Periodically Update Map from OneDrive Spreadsheet changes
Periodically Update Map from OneDrive Spreadsheet changes

From then on, the map should be automatically updated when your spreadsheet changes.
To see what spreadsheets are attached to your map, use the View -> Cloud Drive Sheets menu item on your map.

Group Highlighted Regions by Color

ZeeMaps allows you to highlight geographical areas, e.g., zip codes, counties, cities, states, or geometrical areas like circles, rectangles on your map. You can use such highlighted areas to mark out sales territories, or show service areas on a map. Often, your “region” will comprise of several smaller “geographical” areas. For example, a pizza delivery service might consist of an area composed of several zip codes. Or, a sales territory map might divide the country into several regions comprising of several states each.

Group Highlighted Regions

We’ve added a capability to “group” highlighted areas by color. Use the View > Group Regions menu to combine the borders of your highlighted areas. Once you do this, boundaries will be removed from all contiguous highlighted areas of the same color.
 

combine highlighted regions
Menu item to combine regions

While the highlighted areas are grouped, you cannot add or make changes to existing areas. To do that, un-group the areas, make the changes, and then group the areas again.
Grouping and un-grouping of regions requires an active Enterprise plan subscription.
For example, here’s a map that has several US Zip Codes highlighted grouped together. Following it is a the same map without the grouped highlighted regions.

Interactive Map with several highlighted zip codes grouped together by color

Interactive Map with highlighted zip codes and other areas

Add users to your enterprise account

When you set up an Enterprise account with ZeeMaps, you can add additional users to the account at relatively low cost: the first 9 additional users are free and then subsequent blocks of 10 users are charged the same rate as the original plan.
To add users to your account, use the Add Users tab in your account page. Specify the additional users’ email addresses and hit “Save Changes”.

Add Users to Enterprise Account
Add Users to Enterprise Account

If a user with the additional email already exists in ZeeMaps, that account will be added to your Enterprise account, and the user will have the same privileges as any other Enterprise account. If a user does not exist with that email, ZeeMaps will create a new user and send a notification through email about the account details.
You can remove any of the added users using the Remove Users tab in your account page. When you remove users from your account, their account is only removed from your Enterprise plan — otherwise their account stays open with ZeeMaps.
We’ve also made it easier to transfer maps from one account to another.
To transfer maps to another account, go to your My Maps page and the Maps Owned section. Select the maps that you want to transfer and then hit the Transfer button on the menu bar. ZeeMaps will ask you to enter the email address of the new owner (twice to ensure correctness). Enter the email address of the new owner and hit Transfer.
When doing the transfer, the new account must already exist in ZeeMaps.
Transfer Maps to a different account
Transfer Maps to a different account

 

Enable street view on your maps

Paid subscribers can enable street view on their maps.
Use the Map -> Settings menu to get to the Map Settings page.

Map Settings menu
Map Settings Menu item

Once on the settings page, go to the tab for Map Display and then check the box that says “Enable street view on map” and hit submit.
 
Enable Street View
Enable Street View on your map

 
You need to be a paid subscriber for the street view to be enabled on your maps.
For example, here’s a sample map with Street View enabled: